Sign in to follow this  
bobhopefan1940

::Forgive Me, I'm a [i]Pre-Code[/i] Newbie::

84 posts in this topic

To All:

I was listening to one of Robert Osbourne's intros the other day and it got me thinking about "The Hays Code." I'm new to all this stuff, so it hadn't dawned on me yet what pre-code meant exactly. Tonight I went on here specifically to find out. I've searched the site in alot of categories to find out more about the code and the effect it had on Hollywood. I'm still a little confused about what it all means, but I'm learning!

What I'm coming to is where I can find out what movies are pre-code and which are not... Particularly from 1934. Also wondering what some of you thought of how different classics would be with or without the Hays Code.

And how far movies got morally before the code was inforced! Before I started watching classics, I always thought none of these old movies had any suggestiveness to them... What a false impression, right?

Sorry if I brought up any old points, I've been glancing over posts from as far back as a year. In addition, if any of you have any names to offer up of stars who either disagreed/agreed with the code. Websites are great, too!

Thanks! Thanks! Thanks!

bhf1940 :)

Movie makers found by around 1910-15 that more people would go to movies if the films contained some scenes of sex, drugs, alcohol, violence, and nudity, and many films began to contain more of that stuff, which began to outrage the parents of the nation.

There were many threats of federal movie censorship such as with a bureau set up for that purpose, such as what eventually happened with the FCC and early radio and TV broadcasts. By the early 1920s, The National Board of Review was a private East Coast group that reviewed films and either gave them a seal of approval or not, but it didn?t actually censor the films. The Catholic Church also published a list of approved and non-approved films.