CodyJ

2017 Christmas Schedule

16 posts in this topic

I'm new to TCM and had to register to voice my disappointment about TCM's Christmas Schedule for 2017. Wow, couldn't believe how scarce the selection was. Is it that lovers of Classic Christmas Favorites must BUY the DVD or perhaps find their favorites on Netflix and the like? So disappointed in TCM.

33 minutes ago, CodyJ said:

I'm new to TCM and had to register to voice my disappointment about TCM's Christmas Schedule for 2017. Wow, couldn't believe how scarce the selection was. Is it that lovers of Classic Christmas Favorites must BUY the DVD or perhaps find their favorites on Netflix and the like? So disappointed in TCM.

What Christmas movies were you hoping to see that aren't being shown?

There are Christmas double features airing at least once a week. It doesn't seem scarce. Each December TCM loads the schedule with titles that people can see then purchase on DVD afterward.

But if you're looking for something like IT'S A WONDERFUL LIFE or WHITE CHRISTMAS, you won't find them. They've never aired on TCM.

7 minutes ago, TopBilled said:

There are Christmas double features airing at least once a week. It doesn't seem scarce. Each December TCM loads the schedule with titles that people can see then purchase on DVD afterward.

But if you're looking for something like IT'S A WONDERFUL LIFE or WHITE CHRISTMAS, you won't find them. They've never aired on TCM.

Yes, I was thinking that the OP meant the "big ones" which rarely if ever air on TCM. To the OP, the reason is that those films have licenses with or are owned by other channels that exclusively show them. Someone with more knowledge on the subject could tell you the specifics, but I think NBC/Universal/Comcast owns It's a Wonderful Life.

14 minutes ago, LawrenceA said: