"TCM Film Vault" listed anywhere?

5 posts in this topic

I am fairly new to TCM. I would love to be able to say a film is part of the TCM library when discussing films, to call it a TCM title, or limit my discussion to films owned by TCM.  However, so far I see no way to see a list of what those are, or a database to check to see if a film qualifies. It would be nice to be able to do so, in order to to keep a discussion TCM oriented. It might come down to my having a flawed understanding of the terms "TCM library" "TCM vault" and "TCM film" in the final analysis.  Any easy answers or suggestions? Thanks in advance.

I saw this posted while I was at work almost 10 hours ago, and I thought, "Well, somebody will surely respond to this before I get home", but no! 

The TCM "library", from what I've gleaned from reading the rules for what's allowed in the Programming Challenge and from a couple of articles I've read about Ted Turner's original acquisition, at least originally consisted of, I think:

* Pretty much everything from MGM through 1986

* Everything that was controlled by United Artists when MGM bought them out around 1982

* Pretty much everything from Warner Bros. before 1948 or 1949 (always forget the year)

* Pretty much everything from RKO

* And while not officially in "the library", I guess, TCM theoretically can air any film that's fallen into the public domain any time they want.