Sign in to follow this  
jimmygnole

I produce a students films tv show

5 posts in this topic

Hello, I'm an Executive Producer (WBEC-TV) in South Florida.  One of the shows I help produce is a high school student films TV show with local youth film/documentary makers.  I would love to use this site for information when I work with students, and sounding board for their films

Any help this community could give to help develop these students would be great.  For instance, one girl just submitted this doc on the MSDouglas tragedy. We are in South Florida so the event really impacted students here. I was hoping some of you could give her some constructive criticism:

https://youtu.be/e-IfwxQZ0I4

Here's a link to our Youtube channel that has all of the films:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCKd8anT4d-xhJjVAgRc42TA

• Like 1

I'm tv producer in South Florida and work with high school students creating documentaries/films and package it in a student films show called "Short Cuts. We use No Film School and its info in our discussions all the time. One girl just submitted this doc on the MSDouglas tragedy. We are in south Florida so the event really impacted students here. I was hoping some of you could give her some constructive criticism:

https://youtu.be/e-IfwxQZ0I4

I'm a big fan & subscriber of FILM SCHOOL SHORTS so was curious to see what even younger kids might have to offer. I also really like non fiction filmmaking (documentaries) so I gave it a look-thank you for inviting us. I bring some professional editing experience along with my personal opinion.....

The filmmaker did an excellent job compiling news reports, visual clips & voice overs of kids protesting school shootings. There isn't much need to convince viewers of the POV that kids (or anyone) being killed in school (or elsewhere) is horrific & needs to be stopped.
Why isn't it? What is the "opposing" side? Why is this "allowed" to happen?