Sign in to follow this  
Timbreza

Recommend some war & war-comedy films (navy).

29 posts in this topic

Hello everyone, can you recommend some great war and comedy-war films focused on the navy in WWII? I've seen some already but will not bother posting them here, just post anything that you would recommend.

Thanks!

Edited by: Timbreza on Jul 25, 2010 1:54 AM

Edited by: Timbreza on Jul 25, 2010 1:58 AM

There are lots of movies about the WWII Navy including some fine British films. I am not good at making lists but a few of my favorites are: Mister Roberts (comedy), Run Silent, Run Deep ( a great sub movie), The Caine Mutiny (a Pulitzer Prize winning book), They Were Expendable (PT boats and John Wayne), Destination Tokyo (sub movie made during the war years with Cary Grant), The Enemy Below (destroyer captain Robert Mitchum hunting enemy sub), Sink The Bismarck (British film done like a documentary), Operation Petticoat (comedy, submarine, and Cary Crant all at once), etc, etc. I am sure others will add to these that I suggest.

Edited by: mrroberts on Jul 25, 2010 9:39 PM

More to consider:

"Action in the North Atlantic" Humphrey Bogart in the Merchant Marine.. A slam bang good one...

"Crash Dive"-Tyrone Power and Dana Andrews in terrific color submarine movie. Powers last before going into Marines in 1943..

"Awat All Boats"-Jeff Chandler- Good Naval WW2 film-Seldom seen..

"Sea Wolves"- Gregory Peck, David Niven and Roger Moore--Not really a Navy pic but takes place on the water, based on a true incident, Older guys take on Nazis..

"Wing and a Prayer"-Don Ameche and Dana Andrews...Slam bang film about a carrier in the Pacific in WW2..

"Don't Go Near the Water"--Glenn Ford, Anne Francis and Mickey Shaughnessy as "Farragut Jones" a sailor who has to make a big speech and every other word out of his mouth is @*. A very funny Navy comedy....

Comedy

"Don't Give Up the Ship"-Jerry Lewis

"You're in the Navy Now"-Gary Cooper and Eddie Albert