Sign in to follow this  
redrakel

Do we get a program with all the screening times and locations?

11 posts in this topic

I'm new to the festival and was wondering about advance notice of all the screenings available. Is a program provided prior to the event to help attendees plan their time?

Rachel

Hello Rachel -

Congrats on being a first-time Classic Film Festival attendee. You're gonna have a grand time.

Yes, there will be a schedule published with all the screenings, presentations and other events taking place at any given time.

In years past, TCM publishes a commemorative program for the Film Festival. This is a large format "book" with articles about many of the themes and events taking place at the Festival. There is also a "pocket guide" which lists all the films and the special guests attending the screenings by date, time and location. You'll also find a very useful "grid" display covering the line-up for the whole weekend in the "pocket guide."

The preliminary "grid" listings should also be available as a printable PDF file at the Festival website soon. TCM has made it available there in the past and I expect it will do the same this year. But items listed so early may change before the start of the Festival. (A change of venue or change in time, etc.)

And I think TCM even releases a Festival "app" for smart phones.

Even though it might not be complete or completely up-to-date before you leave for Hollywood, I recommend checking out (and printing) the preliminary "grid" listings before you arrive. If you are like every other attendee during the past two Film Festivals, you are gonna encounter "Festival Frustration" - the realization that two or more events you want to attend are happening at the same time.