Sign in to follow this  
SueSueApplegate

CINEMATIC JOURNEYS: TRAVELS IN THE MOVIES...

26 posts in this topic

Well, I've been pondering what might "Cinematic Journeys" entail for TCMFF 2013?

*Apollo 13* with Tom Hanks, Ron Howard, Bill Paxton, and Kevin Bacon?

*Around The World in Eighty Days* with Michael Andersen, Jr.,whose father was the director Michael Andersen? Marion Ross, who was an extra?

*The Sound of Music* with Julie Andrews, Christopher Plummer and the entire Von Trapp family players?

*Gidget Goes to Rome* with James Darren and Cindy Carol?

*It It's Tuesday, This Must Be Belgium* with Ian McShane? Marty Ingels?

*Travels With My Aunt* with Maggie Smith?

*How Sweet It Is* with Debbie Reynolds and James Garner?

*Julia* with Jane Fonda and Vanessa Redgrave?

*Gidget Goes Hawaiian* with James Darren, Carl Reiner, Michael Callan and Vickie Trickett?

*The Americanization of Emily* with Julie Andrews and James Garner?

"Cinematic Journeys" is an interesting theme. I guess that I start thinking of things like Brief Encounter, The Lady Vanishes and oddities like Stolen Harmony or Non-Stop New York, that actually involve modes of transportation. Stolen Harmony has an unusual streamlined bus and Non-Stop New York has private cabins and even an outdoor balcony on an airplane.

Perhaps we'll see Blade Runner.

There are many kinds of cinematic journeys, not just those that involve transportation.

Life is a journey, some say. Or the journey to find oneself.

Some ideas:

*Outward Bound* or its remake *Between Two Worlds*

*The Grapes of Wrath*

*Lust for Life*

*The Petrified Forest*

*The Wizard of Oz*

*The Incredible Journey*

Countess and lzcutter, I would love to attend screenings of all the wonderful films you ladies have mentioned, especially *Brief Encounter*, *The Wizard of Oz* and several others. With "Cinematic Journeys," the possibilities are fascinating to ponder.