Sign in to follow this  
terrya

"Big Eden"

7 posts in this topic

Hi,

I'm new to the TCM Message Boards.

I'm gay, and I wish TCM would show some LGBT films from time to time. One film I wish TCM would show is "Big Eden", a film from 2000. Arye Gross plays a New Yorker who goes out to the town in Montana where he was born and raised called Big Eden (he's going out there to take care of his grandfather, who's ill). And while out there, his character has to deal with his feelings towards a man he had a relationship with. And the new feelings of an Native American man who falls in love with him. It's a sweet movie (and I wished everyone was as accepting of gay people as everyone in Big Eden seem to be). It's one of my favorite LGBT themed movies.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0212815/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1

• Like 1

Hey, terrya-

Don't you love this forum which the TCM moderators have just carved out for us? In the past, every time we tried to get a gay-themed thread going in General Discussions or elsewhere, we got piled on by people who either weren't serious about the discussion or were mildly to strongly opposed to it. So far this is shaping up to be a nice place to have those discussions without it turning rowdy. Yes yes yes to "Big Eden".  Great choice.  I've heard it criticized for the fact that the town is so accepting, the point being I guess that it's simply not realistic. But I see the movie more as a fable which tries to model the kind of good behavior all communitires should strive for. Your choice of "sweet" to describe it is totally appropriate. (And sexy too.) I first saw it on Logo, but rented it shortly after so I could see it unedited. I don't mean to turn the discussion from "Big Eden", but have you seen "Were The World Mine", another movie about a community dealing with its gay members, this time with a strong fantasy element?

• Like 1

Hey DougieB,