trsquare

Daily Dose of Darkness #6: Business is Getting Better (Scene from Murder, My Sweet)

354 posts in this topic

I'm a huge fan of old radio programs, and a new fan to film noir.  How would what I hear on the radio programs dovetail with the movies we're watching, or are these two completely different mindsets? 

• Like 1

You mention Marlowe and Spade. Both existed in various mediums. The stories of Chandler and Hammett, films like The Big Sleep and The Maltese Falcon, and the radio shows.

Obviously film noir is a visual medium but elements might be present in "the theater of the mind", old time radio. Think about the use of music and sound in the films and compare that to the OTR shows.

There are a lot of Marlowe films that TCM will be airing.

• Like 2

I'm not an expert, but I have a small number of the Sam Spade radio episodes on mp3 at home.  (Howard Duff (husband of Ida Lupino!) played Sam Spade.)  I would say that the radio episodes are not quite as dark as the movie renditions of Hammett's work or the written stories themselves.  Perhaps it was the censorship of the late 40's and 50's, but the episodes tend to end "happily" with the culprit identified and held to account and the mystery solved.  On the other hand, the dialogue absolutely crackles at times and captures well the dry and sardonic wit of the typical Hammett shamus.  All that said, the radio episodes are highly entertaining on their own terms and well worth a listen.  May I recommend Radio Classics, channel 82 on XM Radio?  You may also be interested in radio shows like Yours Truly, Johnny Dollar.  Excellent radio!

• Like 1

This is the official topic for Daily Dose #6, which will be delivered Tuesday morning, June 9. Please use this topic thread for all posts on Daily Dose #6 and avoid, if at all possible, opening new topic threads on the Daily Doses. Thanks, and enjoy! Let the discussion begin.