Sign in to follow this  
Mandi

Peeping Tom...

2 posts in this topic

OK, I'm new to the TCM message board and as my first thread I would like to talk about Peeping Tom. I'm a fan of Michael Powell's films such as The Red Shoes and Black Narcissus and I have always wanted to see Peeping Tom. Considering it was the film that "ruined" his career I was very interested. I saw it for the first time today and I thought it was awesome. Michael Powell had guts to make this film. I like the variety in his work. I liked how creative the murders were and how even in something so horrible, the main character found and made something artistic about it. Taping his victims and having his victims watch themselves as he ends their lives. I'm not big on modern horror films at all, I can't stomach them. There is far too much gore and guts in today's horror films. This is along the lines of the perfect horror film for me. Part of what made it so creepy is that it's not a monster in a since that he looks like one, he is just a man. A man with a sick mind. A tripod and a knife, who knew?

Your thoughts?

Cheers. (~.~)

My reaction to your remarks is one of incomprehensibility. Can't fathom how you arrive at the appreciation you find in this sick dog of a flick.

Not even sure I can pinpoint down what makes it fail for me. But I will try.

Problem #1 Telegraphing: there is no doubt from the first reel, who the murderer is; the only question is "what is his psychological motivation"? Once we grasp it, from that point on there is no anticipation left.

Problem #2: Incompetence: the bumbling way he goes about wreaking his grisly violence on his victims...I find it insulting that he isn't 'better' at what he sets out to do. He makes more mistakes than a cerebral palsy might do under similar circumstances.

As I said above: there's no anticipation. No 'contest' between the killer and the police. Any kind of 'puzzle' or 'unpredictable outcome' (for our minds to toy over) is gone.