Jump to content
 
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Today's GAOH weekly chat - Subject: Serials and matinee favorites


Ktrek
 Share

Recommended Posts

You are invited to today's Golden Age of Hollywood Message Board's chat on matinee favorites. If you like discussing seriials or classic film series please join us. You do NOT have to be a member of the Golden Age of Hollywood to join the chat. Just click the link below. You will be taken to the board site. Just below the top banner you will see a link that says CHAT. Click that, enter a handle or name but DO NOT ENTER A PASSWORD unless you are registered in the chat room already. Below is the official notice and the link:

 

http://www.goldenageofhollywood.com

 

Hi Everyone,

 

Time to announce this Sunday's chat.

 

SUNDAY 19TH NOVEMBER

 

at 7.00 p.m. UK Time (notice the new time)

 

2.00 p.m. ET

1.00 p.m. CT

12.00 noon MT

11.00 a.m. PT

10.00 a.m. AT

 

If you have any comments about the new time please post them.

 

The topic for the chat which will last between 1 and 2 hours is :

 

MATINEE FAVES

 

Remember those Saturday afternoons when you thrilled to the exploits of

Flash Gordon, Zorro, Captain Marvel, superman, Sherlock Holmes, Charlie

Chan, Superman etc.

 

This chat is a celebration of those fun serials from the silents to the

50s also the second feature series movies like Holmes, Chan, Moto,

Bulldog Drummond, Dick Tracy and many others.

 

We will possibly consider the history of the serial and the B movie

through the specialists like Republic and Monogram. How entertaining are

these movies now ? Do they provide a window into the past in that they

are more regular movie fare than the big studio releases and so-called

classics ? Did any TV series or movies follow in the tradition of the

cliffhanger serials ?

 

Hope to "see" you in the chat room on Sunday,

 

Take care,

 

Derek (Classic Movie Man)

 

PS : After this chat I'm considering reducing the official chats to

fortnightly. The Radio Show will be one week the chat the next. I'm also

thinking of asking the members what you what to chat about and I'm

prepared to move the Sunday chat to a bit later in the day if it will help

make it easier for people to attend.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

© 2022 Turner Classic Movies Inc. All Rights Reserved Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Settings
×
×
  • Create New...