Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
SinatraFan86

Favorite film representing [i]your[/i] profession?

In the "Portrait of Jennie" thread, Kimpunkrock raised a very interesting point that I'm not sure has been discussed here before (at least not that I know of)-- what is your favorite film that represents your own profession? In the "Portrait" thread Kimpunkrock noted that as an artist she really enjoyed "Portrait of Jennie". I am also an artist, and I personally like "How to Steal a Million" as my favorite film about art.

So here's the question: What is your favorite film that represents your own profession?

As far as movies about Painters, I also really like Lust for Life with Kirk Douglas and Anthony Quinn playing Van Gogh and Gougan (I am sure I spelled that wrong). There was also a film made in the nineties called Vincent and Theo with Tim Roth playing Van Gogh, that is really good. I thought that Tim Roth did a very good job playing Van Gogh. Other great painter movies I like are ****, Basquit and Scarlett Street. But I definitely am now adding Portrait of Jennie to the list. Lust for Life is probably my favorite mostly because of Kirk Douglas. Most of these movies are pretty depressing actually. All the painters had a pretty bad end. There is a lesson in that for me somewhere.

Thanks for posting this thread .

Fun thread.

I'm in auto insurance. I used to handle serious injury claims and suits, now I'm a superviser in the call center. As a claims examiner, I related a lot to E.G. Robinson as Keyes in Double Indemnity. And the old timers tell me the opening scene of The Apartment looks a lot like home office back in the days before cubicles.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

I also really like the movie Frida that came out in 2002 about Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera, another depressing story about painters.....