Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

What started your classic movie interest?

It's always interesting to hear story's about how their classic movie interest began, so in this thread share your story with everyone :)

Here's mine;

It was a couple years ago and my mom bought Meet Me in St.Louis for us to watch as a family, and being a typical highschool student I really didn't want to watch an OLD movie. Haha little did I know it was going to be really good, and after that i just kept watching more and more. And that's how it all started !!

I think it was mostly on account of my parents showing me lots of classic movies, in the earliest days of video. Things like Casablanca, The Wizard of Oz, How Green was my Valley and several Chaplin titles.

It seemed to me that classic movies had so many interesting things about them, and in some aspects newer movies couldn't compete with that!! B-)

My dad always liked On The Waterfront and I never thought I'd like it. One day it was on TCM a few years ago and I decided to watch it and was overwhelmed at how great a movie it was and what an awesome and handsome actor Marlon Brando was. After seeing that film, I bought lots of Brando films and have liked his movies and classic films ever since.

I wish classic movies were the only ones on television :P , they (to me) are so much better than any recent movie could be. That's cool how you grew up with, i wish i had found out about them a long time ago