Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Summer Under the Stars 2008 - You do you want to see?

I'm still a bit of a novice on the TCM boards so I have no idea whether or not a thread with suggestions for what stars to feature next August will be read or taken into consideration by The Powers That Be. Even if not, I thought it would be fun for community members to put there ideas out there. Here are mine:

First, I'd like to see a couple more character actors:

Eve Arden

Charles Coburn

Frank Morgan

Beulah Bondi

Other stars:

Laraine Day

Teresa Wright

Van Heflin (he might be considered a character actor)

Vivien Leigh

Leslie Howard

Rock Hudson

James Steward (might as well keep his streak alive, but next year why not feature his Hitchcock films?)

Madeleine Carroll

Ronald Coleman

Frederic March

Ginger Rogers

Margaret Sullavan

Joel Mccrae

Lillian Gish

John Barrymore

I've tried to avoid stars that have been featured this August, with the exception of Stewart. And, also to focus on stars that aren't heavily featured on TCM anyway (hepburn, grant, stanwyck, etc).

This leads me to a suggestion for the TCM website/database that I'll post here since I'm not sure where I should post it otherwise: it would be nice to have an archive, a list at the very least, of past Stars of The Month and Spotlights of the Month. That way, people could check to see when, if ever, a star had been featured, like Irene Dunne in my case. If it isn't possible to link to the featured information for a specific month, a list of the film that were shown would be nice, too. I noticed when searching the photos that there are galleries from past stars/features of the month, but there is no centralized area to discover who and what was shown and when. Just a suggestion.

Someone posted a thread a couple of weeks ago. I'll include my list again here (and there are more than 31 names listed):

Lillian Gish

Harold Lloyd

Lon Chaney

Marion Davies