Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Synergy between music and silent action

I am new to this type of learning environment and not a film student. I am, however, a huge fan of Hitchcock and his genius... Though I have seen several of his silent films, the input from the lecture videos have proven to be quite valuable, for example, the German influences, signature scene, and anxious worlds... After observing The Pleasure Garden and The Lodger I was able to see the progression of what would become Classic Hitchcock... By that I mean the acute synergy between the orchestral score and the action on the screen... A professor once told me, "Take your readers by the nose and lead them." Hitchcock does this with incredible accuracy via the music, action, or spoken word... His talkies would make wonderful silent films and vice versa mostly due to how the music moves the viewer in the same direction as it parallels the action and emotion being portrayed on screen. 

• Like 1

I am new to this type of learning environment and not a film student. I am, however, a huge fan of Hitchcock and his genius... Though I have seen several of his silent films, the input from the lecture videos have proven to be quite valuable, for example, the German influences, signature scene, and anxious worlds... After observing The Pleasure Garden and The Lodger I was able to see the progression of what would become Classic Hitchcock... By that I mean the acute synergy between the orchestral score and the action on the screen... A professor once told me, "Take your readers by the nose and lead them." Hitchcock does this with incredible accuracy via the music, action, or spoken word... His talkies would make wonderful silent films and vice versa mostly due to how the music moves the viewer in the same direction as it parallels the action and emotion being portrayed on screen.