Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Classic Magazine Access

Octoberbest

I'm a student who would love to read/write about classic films and stars. I've seen various magazines for sale on eBay... Photoplay, Movie Story, Movie Life... I was wondering if ANY libraries in the US had back issues of these on file and if so, which ones, because I'd love to do some reading without spending a fortune trying to find the information that I need. Does anyone know if the articles are indexed online or elsewhere?

Any information is extremely helpful-- I'm afraid the librarians at my university and the local public library didn't have much information and I'm hoping for assistance from some fellow classic movies enthusiasts.

Octoberbest,

Can you give me your city and state? I am a Librarian and I can try to research this for you using a database called worldcat among others. For instance I'm seeing that the Chicago Public Library, just as an example, has Photoplay Magazine for the years 1916-1940. If I knew where you were I could look for libraries near you. In 1941 Photoplay merged with Movie Mirror so it would have to be searched separately after that date.

Generally a database will help you locate the collection in hard copy or from microfilm or microfiche. Once you've located where it is you would then have to go to that location and either research or photocopy what you need. Libraries rarely let these hard bound back issues circulate. If you want particular articles from these magazines, that you can cite, then your university library will be able to get photocopies of the articles for you but they will probably charge so much a page after some point.