Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Would a Film Noir work today?

Love the genre too much not to ask this question.

I'm a writer & have a desire to use a lot of the common noir themes from the 40's in the script. Phrases like "Sorry Charlie" or shadow character types like Femme Fatales & also the classic 'bad guy hero' type.

I wonder though, would it sell without swear words? Would the low budget be enough to win the studio and/or producer?

I might wait until I've finished film school that way I can Direct it to get the desired effect out of it.

NOT NEO-NOIR.....FILM NOIR......could it work today?

I realize that I may not speak for ALL twenty-year-old movie fans, but I think the reason films have to rely so much on cursing, sex, and explosions today is because they are so much lower in general quality. If you could make another "White Heat" or "Pickup on South Street", you wouldn't need a single profainity throughout the entire film. That's how effective those films are. The action absorbs you so fast, so hard, all of that superficial stuff doesn't even matter! I've never cared much for cursing in movies anyway, but I can see why cowardly modern-day filmmakers feel like they have to resort to it. Their films are so hackneyed, so mundane, and so horribly cast that they feel their film won't sell to today's "youth" markets without it. If you could make a great noir film (and I sure hope you do!!!), it would most definitely work. In fact, you just might start a trend! The saying happens to be true. What is old is always new again. It happens in fashion, it happens in music, so why not in movies??? The absolute best of luck to you with your film, and I'll be eagerly anticipating it!!!

---Barrett

• 2 weeks later...

Thanks for the kind words.....yeah especially this week, I'm just writing and joting down notes from all these great classic noir spiced flicks.