Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Lover of all things Joan Leslie! <3

Hi, guys! My name is Rocky, and I am new to the TCM forums. Nice to meet all of you.

Joan. Leslie. There is no other face from Hollywood's Golden Age that I would rather gaze upon than Joan Leslie's. I'm Italian on my father's side, so having a thing for Irish girls comes naturally to me. I have watched most of her movies. It's such a shame that her career tanked in the late '40s because she deserved better. Anyway, any other Joan Leslie fans on here? Let's talk!

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1
3 hours ago, rockybkip7 said:

Hi, guys! My name is Rocky, and I am new to the TCM forums. Nice to meet all of you.

Joan. Leslie. There is no other face from Hollywood's Golden Age that I would rather gaze upon than Joan Leslie's. I'm Italian on my father's side, so having a thing for Irish girls comes naturally to me. I have watched most of her movies. It's such a shame that her career tanked in the late '40s because she deserved better. Anyway, any other Joan Leslie fans on here? Let's talk!

I'm a Joan Leslie fan.    The problem for Joan was that she signed with Warner Bros.  and that studio pushed their male actors and associated projects (with the exception of Bette Davis).    This impacted the careers of all their female talent like Olivia DeHavilland,  Ida Lupino, and Ann Sheridan,  as well as newer actresses like Alexis Smith.   

Still Joan had some file roles in films like High Sierra (with Bogart),  Sergeant York (with Cooper),  The Male Animal (with Fonda),    and Yankee Doodle Dandy (with Cagney).     She was also a secondary leading actress in The Hard Way, with Ida Lupino,     The few chances Joan was given as the star of a film where just not good films; E.g. Cinderella Jones and Janie Gets Married.