Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

I would love to see TCM devote a month to movies about painters. There are so many of them.  As an artist, I find them inspirational and frequently super dramatic. There's also such a wide variety of subject matter. Mostly I'd like to see dramatic movies about painters as portrayed by actors. Ones I'd suggest are Modigliani, Carrington, Moulin Rouge about Toulouse Lautrec, ****, Lust for Life, The Agony and the Ecstasy, Artemesia, Frida, even Beatrix about Beatrix Potter. Artists sometimes live on the edge, doing their Bohemian thing--many dramatic possibilities!

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

The auto-censor here is pretty a n a l.  Try posting it again by spacing between each letter.  ;)    And I can't think of any classic movies about artists, that are biopics, but a more recent one, P O L L O C K('00) with Ed Harris was pretty good. 

See?  I had to come back and edit  the last name of artist JACKSON P O L L O C K  and space it because the ignoramus who programs the auto-censor is too stupid to know the slur word used to denote someone of Polish  background ISN'T spelled that way!

Sepiatone

• Thanks 2
  • Haha 3

At Eternity's Gate and Renoir (Netflix and Tubi, at present i believe respectively) are WONDERFUL 

also.. while he's more of an artist with language; Young Goethe In Love is Exquisite.

I thought about a month of all artists, including painters, writers, composers, and dancers. But as I was trying to make a list of painters, there seemed to be more than enough for a month of just painters. Particularly if you include documentaries as well.

15 minutes ago, Twokeets said:

I thought about a month of all artists, including painters, writers, composers, and dancers. But as I was trying to make a list of painters, there seemed to be more than enough for a month of just painters. Particularly if you include documentaries as well.

Funny Thing You Should Bring that up..