Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
sfwitkin

cocktail name in "BF's Daughter"

Okay, this is random, but I believe it was on Barbara Stanwyk day, in the movie "BF's Daughter," that a woman at a bar ordered a drink called "Blood in the Snow." I can't find any info online about this cocktail, nor has any bartender I've asked heard of it. Anyone out there have a clue? Thanks!

Well. Patricia, I am NO expert, but I remember that as well....anyway...I asked around and someone else told me that Blood in the Snow is:

1/2 ounce dry vermouth

1/2 ounce sweet vermouth

1 oz gin

3 crushed frozen strawberries

thanks for the info! I am looking forward to sharing this recipe with an authorized mixologist & getting bloody.

I should probably move this over to the General Discussion board but...some one should put together a drink recipe book of drinks from classic movies. There would be a lot to choose from! When I read the original post it made me think of a drink that was ordered in "The Bishop's Wife". It stuck out in my mind because I thought it odd for an Angel to order a stinger. I think that was the drink.

circa - there is a book entitled "Hollywood Cocktails" or a facsimile thereof. I'll get the correct name and publisher later and let you know, its amongst some of the rubble I collect.

Mypalspencer....yup...I remember that book now.

I think it had the White Cargo in it....which I think is gin and vanilla ice cream....LOL!

Hiccup!...Excuse me, but a "White Cargo" consists of gin and vanilla ice cream, eh? Well, if I drank that concoction, I guarantee I'd be "green cargo"--green around the gills, no doubt. And a "Blood on the Snow" is dry and sweet vermouth, gin AND frozen strawberries!? Well, I'd undoubtedly be "asleep in the snow" if I imbibed that concoction.