Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

A poll I want you to take

I graduated from high school in 1983, and I am a HUGE fan of classic music videos. I think the first ones came in the 70s before MTV hit, but I know some of the people on this forum think that the first videos are actually musical numbers, but that is something I'll never know why. Anyway, how many of you think that classic musicals qualify as videos?

Interesting question. I'm not sure I have the answer for you, but I will say that I do NOT consider a musical feature film to be a music video. However, I've seen several musical shorts on TCM and elsewhere that are simply a band or orchestra performing a song. To me, today's music videos are really what we used to call short subjects. It's just that we watch them on tv now, instead of in the movie theatre.

Sandy K

Sounds a bit like a semantic argument to me. I loved videos when I first noticed them in the 1980s, but didn't really think, "Oh, those are in the tradition of the soundies and Vitaphone shorts." I rarely hear the earlier form of "recording with picture" referred to as a video. But they are all in the same vein.

I would also note that videos tend to be more abstract, less straightforward presentations (though Vitaphones and their ilk were not without weirdness!).

I think the soundies were actually shown in bars and dance halls on a contraption not unlike a jukebox.

> I graduated from high school in 1983, and I am a HUGE

> fan of classic music videos. I think the first ones

> came in the 70s before MTV hit, but I know some of

> the people on this forum think that the first videos

> are actually musical numbers, but that is something

> I'll never know why. Anyway, how many of you think

> that classic musicals qualify as videos?