Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Names that are hard to pronounce

TopBilled

For years, I have been wondering how to pronounce the last name of *Katina Paxinou.*

*Chico Marx.* Is it Chick-o or Cheek-o...?

Also, I don't know how to say the last name for *Pedro Armendariz.* Is it Ar-men-dar-iz or Ar-mend-a-riz.

And when pronouncing the last name of *Victor Jory,* is it with a J-sound or a Y-sound, because I have heard it said both ways.

LOL

Well, I majored in Russian in college, so I don't have any problems with those names. :-p

I don't know who did the transliteration on "Ugrjumov", but that J ought to be a Y.

Interestingly, there doesn't seem to be anybody in Russian Wikipedia who fits the name A. Ugryumov, unless it's the vice-admiral.

> {quote:title=Fedya wrote:}{quote}

> I don't know who did the transliteration on "Ugrjumov", but that J ought to be a Y.

I have long ago given up attempting to understand how and why some Latin spellings are derived. It may seem strange but I have little experience reading Russian or Ukrainian in Latin letters. I have to sound it out like a school child because of my disconnect. I have a Cyrillic-to-Latin-letters program to aid me in writing and it often gives two or even up to five different results for a word.

I know of only one movie in which A. U. appeared. He played Prince Dolsky in *Twilight of a Woman's Soul* (1913).

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0368309/

There is a foreign movie called "Jak Rozpetalem Druga Wojne Swiatowa" (1970), a Polish comedy set during the Second World War.

The movie stars Marion Kociniak who plays Pvt. Franek Dolas .

In the movie Franek Dolas uses a false name and introduces himself to the Germans as Grzegorz Brzęczyszczykiewicz who lives in Chrząszczyrzewoszyce, county Łękołody. Bzhentzhyshcheekyevitch. Gzheghozh.

Gwaed ar y Ser (1975) stars Hywel Gwynfryn and Dafydd Iwan.