Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Jane Eyre Hermann score butchered 01-30-12

I am a professional musician and have this movie on VHS and I can tell you that what is playing now as the score is NOT the Hermann score. Whatever happened, there is "filler" music on top of the Hermann score. The Hermann score was brilliant in itself. Someone or something has added the "filler" which has just butchered the score completely. The Hermann score was absolutely perfect for this film, why in the name of heaven was the additional music added. It ruins the whole movie.

I just shut the tv off and am playing my VHS tape of Jane Eyre with ONLY the Hermann score and enjoying it immensely. Anybody else recognize this as well??? Just awful TCM. Shame on you.

I'm sure it was not TCM that screwed with the music. Why the distributor would, I can only guess. Perhaps a rights issue? Well, thanks for the info. I have recorded it, but not watched it yet. If we're lucky, maybe someone who knows for certain what's up with that will let us know.

To be honest, I didn't notice. The only place I'd seen the movie was on AMC years ago, and each time the picture and sound was just horrific , not to mention edited to fit their time slot. So I was too busy enjoying the beautiful uncut picture to be noticing any discrepancies with the score. I'm thrilled that TCM finally got their hands on *Jane Eyre* after six-plus years of my begging for it. Thanks, TCM! :-)

> {quote:title=ValentineXavier wrote:}{quote}I'm sure it was not TCM that screwed with the music. Why the distributor would, I can only guess. Perhaps a rights issue? Well, thanks for the info. I have recorded it, but not watched it yet. If we're lucky, maybe someone who knows for certain what's up with that will let us know.