Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Oscar for Best Musical Score

Terrence1

Everyone knows that one of the Oscar categories is for Best Score. Being a musician, I always pay close attention to the nominees, and this continues to be one of my favorite categories. In the 1990's, there were actually two categories: Best Score for a Drama, and Best Score for a Musical or Comedy. Then, after three years, for some reason, they went back to the original plan of only one category. Now, I don't expect anyone to have a reason for this, but I do find it curious that it happened. Where is Robert Osborne when we need him?

Terrence.

*"In the 1990's, there were actually two categories: Best Score for a Drama, and Best Score for a Musical or Comedy. Then, after three years, for some reason, they went back to the original plan of only one category."* - Terrence1

I had forgotten about that category existing in 1990s. But the music branch of the Academy was always a bit "schizophrenic" and hard to track. It looks as if it has the most "retired" categories of any area in the Awards.

From 1995 to 1999 the Academy did award a separate Oscar to the Best Score of a Comedy or Musical. I think the "serious" composers (Williams / Goldsmith / Bernstein, et.al.) were getting a bit miffed at losing the Original Score Oscar to the composers of the Disney musical films that were made in the 1990s. It appears these composers pushed for a separate category so that the score for *Schindler's List* wasn't competing against a film like *Beauty And The Beast*.

But the popularity (and quality) of the "new" animated musicals began to fade and with that, the need for a separate award became unnecessary. There may have also been a change to the rules so that the Original Score Award covered only compositions for films without songs featured in the motion picture. But that is a guess on my part.