Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
Dmallon

The Enchanted Cottage

A beautiful movie that some people aren't familiar with. I've come to appreciate Dorothy McGuire much more than I once did.

I have always loved this movie. I am much more accustomed to seeing Robert Montgomery comedies. He is wonderful in this role!

I know you meant Robert Young, and I am in agreement with you. If you've ever seen Father Knows Best, I think this was the role that let him transition out of male pretty face status.

I love how Dorothy is given harsher lighting and average looks; it sort of helps us poor underlings in the audience realize the limits of what we see with our eyes, and where beauty is found. And Herbert Marshall's wonderful story of the people plunged into darkness is an eye-opener, all puns intended!

My only quibble is the denouement (for the couple) after their marriage, As a writer, I can see the plot-progression, (with the symbol of the Cottage for Newlyweds only) but more could have been made of what Mrs Minite sees and not the wedding night melodrama played out. How do you see the night of enchantment? Given the history of Oliver, it is a problem that Laura cannot see his underlying pain that her affection is alleviating.

Someone talk me down..

I watched the entire movie last night and it is different than a lot of the standard Hollywood stuff released at the time. The subject is tricky since one could imply it based on shallowness; that love is based on looks.

Of course the movie turns that around and says that when people are in love, looks don't matter (they are overcome by the sheer force of the love), but again, that could just be shallowness.

Until the last 3 or so years I didn't even know who Dorothy Mcquire was but I have now seen her in a few movies and she is a fine actress. This wasn't an easy role and one other actresses wouldn't wish to be associated with, I assume.