Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Foreign Films Recently on TCM

kingrat

A big shout-out to the programmers for some of the outstanding foreign films shown in the last month or so:

CARNIVAL IN FLANDERS (LA KERMESSE HEROIQUE)

PICKPOCKET

SIMON OF THE DESERT

L'ATALANTE

For me, all of these films lived up to their reputations. I had only seen L'ATALANTE in a poor print, and the gorgeous restoration shown, probably from the Criterion Collection, was a revelation. The other three were all new to me. Did some of the rest of you see these films?

Kingrat, I love foreign films and wish I'd seen the ones you list. I'm afraid I'm not very good at looking up TCM's programming well in advance for planning purposes, and so missed them.

The only one of the four you list that I've seen is *Simon of the Desert*. I'll watch anything by Luis Bunuel.

I love that TCM is demonstrating excellent acuity in their selection of foreign movies. I hope it will break down the barrier some people have erected against any movie not made in America or England.

It is sad to say that I recognize the superiority of those films which you listed but none of them are to my personal taste.

I hope they air many more Japanese and French movies. I will tolerate more Italian, Spanish or Swedish movies.

I really, really, really, really, really wish they could negotiate with Mosfilm for rights to air their extensive library. I believe most of them would resonate more with Americans than many West-European movies do.

> {quote:title=dpompper wrote:}{quote}VERY nice to see foreign film offerings beyond just "Jules & Jim."

...which, by the way, I think is boringly over-rated. I always think *Jules and Jim* is one of those "foreign films" that people always list when they don't really know many foreign films, but can always remember this one.