Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

How Harold Lloyd filmed SAFETY LAST - same alley as Keaton's COPS

SilentEchoes

John,

Thanks so much for posting this here! I absolutely loved your presentation at this year's film festival. Your then and now slides are terrific!

I do hope you will continue here!

Yes, thank you for posting this.

The Harold Lloyd building scenes were some of the best special effects ever filmed.

Years ago I studied them and still photos of them, and I concluded that the close-ups of the clock scene and the tops of the buildings he was on were props (fake false-fronts) constructed on top of a building across the street from where the props seemed to be located.

If we say the real background buildings on the right side of the screen are on the South side of the street, and the background buildings on the left are on the North side of the street, then the false-front prop building face that Harold is climbing up is on the top of a real building that is located on the SOUTH side of the street, while the false prop building segments are actually FACING SOUTH, rather than North.

Note that all buildings that are on the SOUTH side of the street should be facing NORTH. But the close-up of the one he is climbing on is NOT facing North. This means it is constructed on top of a building that is on the South side of the street, which IS facing North, while the prop building is facing South.

The brilliant photography and clever camera angles make it seem as if Harold is on the South-facing front of a building that is on the North side of the street. But he is not.