Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Sci-Fi classic that surpasses Forbidden Planet

It predates Forbidden Planet by a year too. I refer of course to William Alland and Universal-International's *This Island Earth* which TCM never shows. The visuals are better and so is the technicolor. TIE's hues are much more vibrant. Watching Forbidden Planet so many times on TCM it seems to me that FP's colors are slightly off especially in the Morbius residence. Too many pinks and off-blues. FP's electron reds and blues should be much more vibrant espicially during the nite time id attack at the camp..That's what m-g-m gets for moochin' off Disney. :D Even the interocitor's neutrino rays are more fun than FP's electron slabs. FP's greens are off color too. Like a very pale avocado. Hey, I'm no technicolor expert but even a layman like myself can tell when technicolor hues should be much more vibrant.

I feel the color is better on *This Island Earth* (1955) but the story is *Forbidden Planet* (1956) in much more literate and thought-provoking. This Island Earth is a retread BEM movie.

*Ikarie XB 1* (1963) is Black&White but I believe it is superior in many ways to either of those as it is more technically correct and it explores diverse topics. It can be watched at:

http://archive.org/details/IkarieXb1Eng.sub

They are both sci-fi movie classics but I think "Forbidden Planet" has aged better than "This Island Earth". "Forbidden Planet" has a more literate script and even with pulp sci-fi trapping it's more thought provoking film with some still timeless concepts. " This Island Earth" is a lot of fun with cool gadgets and monsters.

I think that *The Day the Earth Stood Still* is the best film of the lot, by far. It is on a higher level than the others. *Forbidden Planet* wants too much to be highbrow. *TDtEST* is a much more topical,direct, pertinent, and personal a film. But, *TIE* is still lots of fun.