Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Before the method actors ...

GABLE1NY

My favorite move genre is the 1930s. The depression days, up to and through WWII, with very few after that time frame.

Before the method actors ... there was pantomime, melodramatics of the silent screen which I've been studying for the past 20 years. Not only the over emphasized emotions, make-up and movie sets, but the rare few that had the genuine art to a science ... the Barrymores, Charlie Chaplin, Buster Keaton and so many others. Only some were able to make the transition to sound. The Barrymores ... formal stage actors ... had no issues at all. Charlie Chaplin held out till the bitter end and when he spoke it was magnificent. Buster Keaton ... needn't ever speak but he did.

I'm talking about those actors that could say it all, subtly, with a simple expression, not an over emphasis of physical distortions.

Then there were the "every guy/girl" ... Gable (really could not act very well, every character was Gable, himself, except one bomb where he tried to act and failed miserably at it... Parnell). He was an ordinary guy, no matter how famous he became. His personal life filled with more drama than any of his movie characters.

Gary Cooper, young John Wayne, who both accomplished it with hitch in their voice to match their walk. Barbara Stanwyk, Myrna Loy, Bette Davis (a little over the top at times), Gladys Cooper,

I think "The Artist" was the best new movie I've seen in 20 years, that fits this type of cinema. Even better that the story has all the great components for a classic. e.g. the action, flare, happiness, and wealth, the naivety and innocence, the passion, the love, the loss of love, the suffering and poverty, the despair and finally the triumph of what a deep romantic love can accomplish. Excellent !