Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Matthew Broderick

audrey33316

There's another thread on this somewhere. I did a quick scan of the board but couldn't find it. Anyway, quite a few posters on that thread echoed your sentiments practically word for word.

I was a freshman in high school when Wargames came out, a junior for Ferris Bueller's Day Off. Matthew Broderick was my role model, the guy I aspired to become. Ironically, I guess I did to some extent, because I imagine we would both sound equally stiff and awkward serving as a TCM host! It was something of a surprise to me as he moved beyond wise-**** high schooler roles that he generally started playing highly nervous, nerdy types. He went from being a sort of James Dean wannabe to Cary Grant in Bringing Up Baby. The Freshman is the first "nervous Matthew" film I remember, and he's repeated that role frequently ever since. Looks like the characters he plays aren't far off in personality to his real-life persona.

Well sewhite, if you STILL feel somewhat kindred to Matthew, and STILL find yourself somewhat patterning your style after him, BUT are NOW having second thoughts about this whole thing, then HERE'S a little suggestion for ya:

Unlike Matthew, REMEMBER to occasionally utilize a little INFLECTION in your voice.

(...kind'a like how I've just typed this message out to ya here, ya see!)

LOL

The first thread about MB I defended how much I like him....well last night was the first time I've seen his TCM "Screwball" intros-and boy you were right!

It certainly doesn't help there is no backround setting for him, only seamless paper. But he had ZERO facial expression. Not only does he look uncomfortable and stiff (well, he used his hands a bit, it helped a little) but his line delivery was AWFUL.

Broderick's delivery was hesitant and a few times lost his rhythm- I would have asked for another "take". After all, isn't he a *professional?*