Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Let Us Talk About History Movies, ...

Palmerin

... and how inaccurate they can often be!

I am an expert at catching anachronisms, such as the fact that, at the beginning of DANCES WITH WOLVES, you can see the modern 50 star USA flag.

Then, of course, there is obvious miscasting, such as Katharine Hepburn trying unsuccessfully to pass herself off as Mary, Queen of Scots, and Anthony Hopkins trying even more unsuccessfully to pass himself off as Nixon, when the fact is that neither resembled the character they were supposed to portray.

And then there is such nonsense as the flags in ADVENTURES OF DON JUAN. At the beginning, an English town, thinking that Don Juan is the bridegroom for a distinguished lady, greets him with a big display of pomp which includes many flags: beautiful, heraldically correct--and totally imaginary, since they do not correspond to any real English civic entity or any real English noble family.

When he returns to Spain, Don Juan is appointed fencing master to the king's court. While there, he shows the Queen the trophy room of the conquistadores, which includes what are supposedly the flags of such as Columbus, Cortes, Garay, Pizarro, Ponce de Leon and Valdivia. Look carefully at those flags: THEY ARE THE SAME EXACT FLAGS OF THE TOWN RECEPTION SCENE IN ENGLAND!

Fact is, the history Hollywood attempts to portray in movies was probably not all that enthralling to begin with. So Hollywood tries it's best to "juice it up" in order to make an entertaining film. And nobody is SUPPOSED to notice the flags anyway.