Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

School Paper About Movies and Culture Ideas

BasilBruce

Hello All, so for my composition class we are doing a research paper where we pick the topic. My idea was to see if movies helped change the culture or if culture changed the movies. Now I know most people think th latter but I would like to research the former. Any ideas about which decade to do?

I studied this when I was in the TV news business.

Part of it works like this:

A few outlaw bikers make a run on Hollister California in 1947 and mess up the town a little.

*http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hollister_riot*

A few years later, a film was made that was based on that event. The film was titled THE WILD ONES.

The film generated an interest in roudyness among bikers, young people, and hoodlums all over the country, and hundreds of thousands of teen boys began wearing black motorcycle jackets, even if they didn't ride motorcycles.

The same reaction with the film REBEL WITHOUT A CAUSE, which caused the sale of switchblade knives to go way up among teenage boys.

The same reaction with BLACKBOARD JUNGLE, which caused many teen boys to react badly in their own high schools.

Etc, etc., etc.

Small, localized cultural trends can suddenly become widespread if movies are made about them. So, the small localized cultural trends or events inspire major movies that are seen by teenagers all over the country. The movies inspire nationwide-spread of those localized cultural events and trends, and the nationwide spread of the new cultural trends inspire more movies to be made about the same subject, and that starts an even more widespread new wave of national cultural trends.