Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Heraldry In The Movies

Palmerin

I am a self-taught heraldist, and am interested in all sorts of symbols. Naturally I am interested in the emblems of the movie studios, such as the roaring lion of MGM. Why did that studio choose that symbol? The Columbia of COLUMBIA, the mount of PARAMOUNT, and the lion of LIONSGATE are pretty obvious, as they are examples of canting symbols: symbols that illustrate the name of the institution that has said symbol. So what does a roaring lion have to do with MGM?

I just read about this in a book I was reading about the Hollywood studio system.  The guy who designed MGM's logo and mascot back in I believe 1915 (?) (1916 maybe?) based the logo and mascot on his alma mater's mascot-- the Columbia University lion.  The lion's roar was also silent until the late 20s when they added the audible roar. 

So to answer your question, the lion has nothing to do with MGM. 

I just read about this in a book I was reading about the Hollywood studio system.  The guy who designed MGM's logo and mascot back in I believe 1915 (?) (1916 maybe?) based the logo and mascot on his alma mater's mascot-- the Columbia University lion.  The lion's roar was also silent until the late 20s when they added the audible roar. 

So to answer your question, the lion has nothing to do with MGM. 

Thank you.

UNIVERSAL has certainly had a very impressive set of emblems based on the planet Earth; WARNER BROTHERS' initials, on the other hand, don't win any prizes for originality.

So, ya REALLY wanna know about this, Palmerin?!

Well, I ALWAYS heard they used that mascot because whenever Louis B. Mayer said the folks at MGM were just "one big happy family", he was lion!

(...err, I mean lyin'...though EVERY company has its disgruntled employees, ya know) ;)

Thank you.