Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Robert Redford January 2015 Star of the Month

HelenBaby2

He has a prominent place on my list of favorites. Saw a lot of his 60's movies when I worked as an usher from 1965-70. Our theatre showed them all and I became a fan from 'Situation Hopeless, But Not Serious' on, enjoying every single performance he gave, one by one.

A very special screen actor.

• Like 1

Political activist that he is, Redford was intrigued by Washington Post reporters Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein and their investigation into the 1972 Watergate break-in and subsequent Nixon White House coverup. It was he who persuaded Woodstein to write "All the President's Men," which became an immediate best-selling book. He then acquired the rights to turn it into a movie.

Looking through his filmography, it's surprising to see how many of his films TCM has shown.  I'm glad to see The Candidate--a fine effort by Michael Ritchie, with a devastating last line.  All the others have been seen often enough, except for Downhill Racer, which was shown a couple times years ago.

Too bad TCM didn't get The Hot Rock, an unassuming caper movie, but it had good chemistry between Redford and George Segal, and  Paul Sand (if anyone remembers him), and--ZERO MOSTEL!, in one of his sleaziest roles ever.  Delightful.

Another I'd like to see is The Electric Horseman, though you can see the end coming a ways off.

As I recall, Three Days of the Condor is pretty darn good. A genuinely original and intriguing premise makes this an unusual espionage/thriller, and Redford strikes just the right note of (justified) paranoia.

Yes, it is.  Really well done.  And a terrific supporting cast, if you could call a line-up of actors who were accustomed to playing the lead a 'supporting cast':  Faye Dunaway, Max Von Sydow, and Cliff Robertson.