Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

TRICK FOR TRICK (1933)

PrinceSaliano

This ultra-rare Fox title is scheduled in January. This might be the best news ever from TCM. I've been hoping to see this magic-themed mystery for 30+ years. I read years ago the only known print was at the Museum of Modern Art. Whoever is responsible deserves a gargantuan THANK YOU!

Yes, I also noticed this very exciting rarity on the January schedule. It and the 1931 Fox film "Don't Bet On Women" (scheduled for Jan. 12) and the 1934 Paramount feature "Wharf Angel" (Jan. 7) are definitely the TCM highlights of the month for me. (Let's hope they remain on the schedule and are not replaced before they are due to be shown).

• Like 2

This ultra-rare Fox title is scheduled in January... I read years ago the only known print was at the Museum of Modern Art.

"Trick for Trick" was shown at the second annual Capitolfest in Rome, NY on August 14, 2004, and the print was indeed from Museum of Modern Art. The movie went over very well at The Capitol and was one of the highlights of the festival, and I'm very excited at the chance to finally get to see it again, on TCM. 

I know it sounds paranoid but this is my concern, too. Please, TCM, don't cancel TRICK FOR TRICK for some reason.

You're not alone on that fear.  I remember TCM scheduling ESCAPE [1948] on Rex Harrison's day in August and then pulling it off its schedule.

The Canadian schedule for January has come out and Canadians WILL NOT have the opportunity to see TRICK FOR TRICK.

DAMN, DAMN, DAMN!!!

I can only hope that the schedule will change again before January but it's highly unlikely.

Canada's a great country and we now have a youthful, optimistic new Prime Minister. But these copyright issues preventing us from seeing a number of the films featured on TCM almost makes me wish I was an American.

Enjoy the film, you lucky south of the 49th parallel crowd, you.