Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

TCM Library Database

I have been suggesting several George Arliss movies for several years that never seem to get screened so I decided to check the library movie database to see if they were in the library. When I tpyed in the titles, it came up "no matches". Just to make sure that things were working, I typed in the names of some films that I KNOW are in the library (like Rebecca) that came back the same way. Please advise.

Ravenjazz

Not sure what happened when you searched. I just typed in George Arliss's name, since I've seen a few of his on TCM myself, and the following films were returned (none of which are on the schedule though March 3, 2006):

Disraeli / 1929

The Working Man / 1933

Voltaire / 1933

THE KING'S VACATION / 1933

The Man Who Played God / 1932

Alexander Hamilton / 1931

A Successful Calamity / 1932

The Green Goddess / 1930

Old English / 1930

The Millionaire / 1931

Thanks Path40a! After getting your post, I did the same thing and got the same results, HOWEVER, I then searched for Abel Gance both as actor and director and it came up no matches. Now I saw Gance's NAPOLEON (1927) on TCM a few years ago and I just saw Abel Gance in Mr. Skeffington last week and it still came up no matches. Is my access cursed or what?

Well, every film shown on TCM is not in their library; some are shown once or twice as part of a temporary licensing arrangement between TCM and the owning entity. As far as searching with a particular actor's name, I think the actor has to be one of the film's leads to have success finding them in their database that way. Perhaps all this will change when TCM launches their new movie database, reportedly scheduled for after the first of the year?

Guest rsteiner0609