Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

NO DVD ING OF OLD FILMS!!!

aholden965

IT LOOKS AS IF TCM IS DVDING MANY OLD FILMS, EVEN CLASSICS LIKE "CASABLANCA" AND MANY OTHERS. I THINK THIS IS A HORRIBLE VIOLATION OF WHAT TCM SHOULD BE ABOUT. TCM SHOULD BE ABOUT FILM, AND NOT ABOUT AN ENTIRELY DIFFERENT MEDIUM THAT RUINS OLD FILMS VISUALLY. WE STOPPED COLORIZATION OF FILMS, AND I DO NOT THINK THIS IS ANY DIFFERENT! THE FILMS SEEM CLINICAL PARODIES OF THEMSELVES. THE ANTIQUARIAN FEELING IS LOST. AS A PROFESSIONAL PHOTOGRAPHER, I CAN SEE THE DIFFERENCE AND I HOPE OTHERS FEEL LIKE I DO!! FILMS SHOULD BE SHOWN EXACTLY LIKE THEY WERE SHOWN ON TCM JUST A FEW YEARS AGO!! STOP THE DESTRUCTION OF OUR HERITAGE!!

I respectfully disagree. Digitizing is only improving on the quality of movie and sound. Unlike Technicolor, it is not altering the movie. If the movie is being played on TCM, that means it's not on Film, so either way, we do not get to view the movie as it would look on film anyway.

I do understand what you mean, but I don't think it applies to a Television station such as TCM. If a Theater showing classics would have done that, it's understandable. I perfer Film for Classics at the Theaters.

Alot of the stuff that TCM and other television stations air is either on videotape, or sent via satellite to the stations and they tape it. Alot of stations these days are going towards having servers running their shows. TCM is probably no exception. What the operator does is that he/she will "load" the show or movie from the videotape to the computer hard drive then another computer will put this on air.

As for DVDing of old films, I hate to say this, but DVDs has replaced the VHS as the preferred mode of viewing films. Besides, within a few years, when all of TV land will be in HDTV, the VHS player will be obsolete.

• 4 weeks later...

Just to let you know, the TV station that I work at last used a telecine in 1993.